Search icon


25th Jun 2024

Social Welfare Ireland: Thousands of people eligible for an increase in their payments

Niamh Ryan

There are a number of additional social welfare payments and schemes available to people on top of their usual payment

One of the payments, known as the Island Allowance, adds up to €1,040 each year.

Anyone that lives on certain islands on the coast of Ireland can avail of the payment.

Living on an island means added expenses for travelling to the mainland for essential services. The extra payment aims to alleviate the added costs of living on an island.

However, there are certain requirements needed in order to receive the payment.

You must ordinarily live on a specified island, be 66 years old or older, and be receiving one of the following social welfare payments:

  • State Pension (Non-Contributory)
  • State Pension (Contributory)
  • Blind Pension
  • Invalidity Pension
  • Widow’s, Widower’s or Surviving Civil Partner’s (Contributory) Pension
  • Widow’s, Widower’s or Surviving Civil Partner’s (Non-Contributory) Pension
  • Carer’s Allowance
  • One-Parent Family Payment
  • Widow’s/Widower’s Benefit under the Occupational Injuries Benefit Scheme

If you’re under 66 but living on a specified island, you can also avail of the increase as long as you receive at least one of the following:

  • Invalidity Pension
  • Disability Allowance
  • Incapacity Supplement under the Occupational Injuries Benefit Scheme
  • Blind Pension

Recipients will receive €20 per week, and no application is needed. People are automatically assessed when applying for a social welfare payment.

The following islands are eligible for the increase:

  • An tOileán Ruaidh (also known as Island Roy), Co. Donegal
  • Árainn Mhór, Co. Donegal,
  • Árainn, Co. Galway,
  • Bere Island, Co. Cork,
  • Claggan Island, Co. Mayo,
  • Clare Island, Co. Mayo,
  • Cléire, Co. Cork,
  • Clynish, Co. Mayo,
  • Coney Island, Co. Sligo,
  • Dernish Island, Moneygold, Co. Sligo,
  • Dursey Island, Co. Cork,
  • Fenit Island, Co. Kerry,
  • Foynes Island, Co. Limerick,
  • Gabhla, Co. Donegal,
  • Heir Island (also know as Inishodriscol), Co. Cork,
  • Inis Bearachain, Co. Galway,
  • Inis Bigil, Co. Mayo,
  • Inis Bó Finne, Co. Donegal,
  • Inis Fraoich Uachtarach, Co. Donegal,
  • Inis Meáin, Co. Galway,
  • Inis Mhic Chionnaith, Co. Galway,
  • Inis Oírr, Co. Galway,
  • Inis Treabhair, Co. Galway,
  • Inishboffin, Co. Galway,
  • Inishcottle, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishgort, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishlyre, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishnakillew, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishturk Beg, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishturk Beg, Co. Mayo,
  • Inishturk Beg, Co. Mayo,
  • Islandmore, Co. Mayo,
  • Lambay Island, Co. Dublin,
  • Long Island, Co. Cork,
  • Omey Island, Co. Galway,
  • Sherkin Island, Co. Cork,
  • Toraigh, Co. Donegal, and
  • Whiddy Island, Co. Cork.