Search icon


04th Aug 2023

US citizens will need to pay for a visa when visiting 30 European countries from 2024


The new EU travel rules will require U.S. citizens to get pre-approved before entering 30 European countries.

Europe is one of the most visited regions in the world, with a huge portion of its tourism coming from the U.S.

American passport holders will now see a change in rules when flying to certain European countries, starting in 2024.

The new travel authorisation applies to those entering any member country of Europe’s Schengen Zone. 

A total of 30 countries are or will be part of this zone.

There are 23 countries that are also members of the European Union, four non-EU countries, and three European micro-states.

These include: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the Vatican City.

While Romania, Bulgaria, and Cyprus aren’t currently Schengen countries, they are in the process of joining and will have the same requirements once the process is complete.

Starting in 2024, U.S. passport holders who are travelling to Europe will be required to get authorisation through the European Travel Information (ETI) system before visiting.

This ETI is connected to the traveller’s passport and allows them to enter 30 European countries for up to 90 days within any 180-day period. 

The application fee will cost 7 euros and will be applicable to those between the ages of 17 and 70. Those who do not fall into this age bracket still need a visa to travel into countries in Europe that fall under these new travel guidelines, but they will not be charged.

It’s worth passing along to friends or family who may be planning a visit to Europe from the U.S. next year!