Dating app Tinder has added a new feature ‘Moments’ that will allow users to share photos with matches that will disappear in 24 hours.
Tinder launched the new 24-hour feature today, with the aim of making the app more of a ‘social sharing platform’ rather than its current hookup status.
Speaking at the announcement of newest development, CEO Sean Rad said:
“We’ve done a really good job of helping people form new relationships, so good in fact that we just reached 2 billion matches this week, but making the connection is just the start.
“We wanted to give our users a better way to get to know their matches and communicate with them. And that’s what led to Moments.”
A Tinder user will simply have to click on a camera icon at the top of their “Matches” tab to take a photo that will then be shared with all potential suitors. The photo will then get erased from existence in 24 hours. (In theory anyway. One word – screengrab.)
Like what you see from your matches’ moments? The user will then have the ability to swipe right that you “liked” their Moment, potentially opening the chat to a whole new level of flirtation.
Tinder’s latest figures claim to produce 800 million swipes and 10 million matches a day.