Search icon


22nd Dec 2016

People are freaking out thinking that their star signs have changed

Has yours changed?

Megan Roantree

Has your changed?

If you’re one of those people who checks your horoscope religiously and attribute all your good qualities and bad qualities to your star sign, this might stress you out a bit.

Various media outlets have reported that the signs have all been shifted, meaning that you could have a new star sign.

MTV reported that because the dates defining horoscopes haven’t been updated or reassessed since they were originally calculated by ancient astrologists some 2000 years ago, they could now be out of line.

It even reported that NASA have added a whole new star sign called Ophiuchus, meaning that there would be 13 signs in total.

Here’s what change allegedly means:

Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16 

Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11 

Pisces: March 11 – April 18 

Aries: April 18 – May 13 

Taurus: May 13 – June 21 

Gemini: June 21 – July 20 

Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10 

Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16 

Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30 

Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23 

Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29 

Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17 

Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20 


HOWEVER – Before you freak out, it is not as ‘life-changing’ as it seems. This is not the first time this news has emerged. In 2011 this story surfaced, causing people every where to panic.

Astrologers have said that this shift actually makes no difference to “tropical zodiac” system, the one we use in the western world.

BBC explained that the change only affects “sidereal” astrology, a system commonly used in India and by other people with an interest in “Vedic” astrology. In this system signs do shift.

“People might be Aquarian under the tropical system but a Capricorn under the Vedic system,” says astrologer Russell Grant.

So you’re sign may have changed in the Vedic system, but you don’t really use that one anyway.

Still, this didn’t stop people freaking out on Twitter.


Everyone calm down.