Search icon


23rd Dec 2021

Additional travel restrictions for “high risk” countries removed

The restrictions had been in place amid concerns over the Omicron variant.

The additional restrictions on passengers arriving into Ireland from countries deemed “high risk” have been removed.

Previously, arrivals from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe had to produce a negative Covid test before quarantining. These passengers were then subject to additional testing in the days after their arrival. These rules were put in place amid concerns of the Omicron variant.

Now, as reported in The Independent, these additional restrictions have been removed. The Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly confirmed last night that he signed regulations amending the rules.

Passengers arriving into Ireland from these countries are now subject to the same restrictions as all other travellers.

As it stands, arrivals into the Irish State must show a negative, professionally-administered test before entering the country.

If you are vaccinated or have proof of recovery from Covid-19, you must produce either a negative antigen test taken no more than 48 hours before you arrive, or a negative PCR test taken no more than 72 hours prior to arrival.

If you have not been vaccinated, you must produce a negative test result from a PCR test taken no more than 72 hours before arrival. A negative antigen test is not valid for unvaccinated passengers.

All passengers must also fill out a passenger locator form.