Search icon


01st May 2014

Former Lostprophets Members Start New Band After Ian Watkins Arrest

The former bandmates are starting a new project.

Former members of the Lostprophets have started a new band together following the conviction of frontman Ian Watkins on child sex abuse charges.

Lee Gaze, Mike Lewis, Stuart Richardson, Jamie Oliver and Luke Johnson are currently working on a new project along with former Thursday frontman Geoff Rickly.

Rickly was speaking to Radio Cardiff when he said that Watkins’ former bandmates “deserve a second chance”.

“I think if ever there was a group of people that needed a second chance, it’s those guys – and they’re going to take full advantage of it”, he added.

“People don’t really think of what happens to the other members. That took away their life. What happened is just devastating for them”.

It hasn’t been confirmed if Rickly will be joining the band in a musical capacity or just professional through his record label, Collect Records.

“People are not going to know what hit them when the new band comes out,” said Rickly.

“It’s like everything I grew up on: a little bit of New Order, a little bit of Joy Division, little bit of The Cure. It’s just so forward-thinking”.

Ian Watkins was given a 29-year jail sentence at the end of last year.