Search icon


20th Jul 2015

Dublin Crowned Leinster Football Champions For The Fourth Year In A Row

It was a brilliant display of ladies football.

Dublin were crowned Leinster football champions for the fourth year in a row when they overcame Westmeath in a thrilling final on Sunday.

The Dubs were firm favourites for the game from the off, but a staunch and determined Westmeath challenge almost tipped the champions from their throne.

2011 TG4 All Ireland Ladies Intermediate Football Championship Final 25/9/2011 Westmeath Johanna Maher Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie *** Local Caption ***
Johanna Maher in action in the All-Ireland final 2011.

A late sin-binning for Westmeath’s Johanna Maher proved to be a crucial blow for the Lake County as it put paid to their revival and allowed Dublin some breathing room.

Indeed, before that Dublin were leading at the break, and seemed to be in command of proceedings with a 1-7 to 0-4 cushion going into the second.

However, Westmeath had other ideas and came flying out of the traps in the second closing the gap to 1-7 to 0-8 to set up a nail-biting finale.

2014 TG4 All Ireland Ladies Senior Football Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 28/9/2014 Dublin Lyndsey Davey Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tommy Grealy
Dublin’s Lyndsey Davey

However, Maher’s sin-binning was followed by two quick points from Dublin, which was followed by a goal and sent the women in blue to glory on a final score of 2-12 to 0-11.

Meanwhile in the Intermediate final, it was Kildare who came out the strongest in their clash with Offaly after a super game that finished on the phenomenal scoreline of Kildare 2-22 to Offaly’s 5-7.

It was a close and tense affair throughout, with the Lily Whites having the edge at the break 1-11 to 3-4, thanks to a first minute goal from Mikaela McKenna.

Superb performances from Roisin Byrne and Aisling Holton drove Kildare forward to glory.

Meanwhile in the Junior championship, it was Louth who had the upper hand over Carlow in the final driving to a comprehensive 8-18 to 0-7 win.