Search icon


23rd Aug 2022

Here’s who fans want to be the next host of Love Island

Plenty of Love Island stars could fit the bill.

Yesterday, Laura Whitmore announced that she would not be returning to her hosting duties on Love Island, citing “certain elements” of the show that she has found difficult, as well as conflicting projects.

While the news came as a shock to many Love Island fans, others began discussing who they would like to see fill Laura’s shoes.

In terms of previous Love Island contestants, a number of names were raised. National treasure Maura Higgins has become a favourite for the job, and it makes sense. Not only is she super familiar with the Love Island universe, she also has hosting experience, after stepping up to the plate for the Irish edition of The Glow Up.

Another Love Island alum fans reckon would make a good host is none other than reigning champion Ekin-Su Cülcüloğlu. As well as being extremely popular with fans, Ekin-Su has plenty of on-screen experience as an actress, so we’re sure she’d be a total natural.

Others have suggested that season five winner Amber Gill would do a stellar job, particularly when you consider the fact that she herself is a massive fan of the show, and regularly live-tweets as she watches.

While having a former contestant step into the role of host might feel like full-circle Love Island moment, many fans believe that ITV will select a professional TV presenter for the job.

Right now, the bookie’s favourite, according to MyBettingSites (via The Northern Echo), is comedian and actress Emily Atack, but she’s not the only TV personality in the running. Alive Levine (of My Dad Wrote a Porno fame) has been given 6/1 odds, while The Glow Up host Maya Jama has 7/1 odds.

The betting company gave Laura’s husband, Iain Stirling (who currently provides commentary for the show) 12/1 odds, while Holly Willoughby has 16/1 odds.

Others mentioned by the website are Maura  (5/1), Ekin-Su (7/1), Amber (10/1), Chris Hughes (16/1), Chloe Burrows (20/1), Rick Edwards (20/1), Tasha Ghouri and Andrew Le Page (25/1), Dani Dyer (25/1), Wes Nelson (30/1) and Molly-Mae Hague (33/1).