Search icon


04th Aug 2022

First Strictly 2022 contestants announced as show returns next month

Ellen Fitzpatrick

The line up is here.

Coronation Street stars Kym Marsh and Will Mellor have been named as the first two Strictly Come Dancing contestants for the 2022 series.

Joining the cast of Corrie in 2021, Will plays drug lord Harvey, but is best known for his role as Gaz in Two Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps and has appeared in Line of Duty and Broadchurch.

Will was announced first out of him and Kym, who is best known for her role as Michelle Connor on the ITV soap as well as in the music scene with her band Hear’Say.

The announcement that the two would be on this year’s show was made on BBC Breakfast after it was announced yesterday it would be returning to our screens on September 10th for the 20th series.

Speaking about taking part in the show, Mellor said: “I’m honestly so chuffed to be taking part in Strictly Come Dancing this year.

“Not going to lie, it’s totally out of my comfort zone and I know it will be a huge challenge but that’s what life is all about.

“This is also my mum’s favourite show and she’s had a really tough few years so I’m doing this is for her as well. Bring it on!”

While Kym added: “I’ve considered doing Strictly for years but the timings never worked out.

“I’m so delighted that this year they have! I’m a huge fan of the show and can’t believe I’m going to go from watching at home in my pyjamas to actually dancing in front of the judges in a glittery dress, it’s unreal!”

The BBC promised the 20th series of Strictly will be one of the best yet, especially because it marks quite the milestone.

“Dust off your dancing shoes, Strictly Come Dancing is back!”

“The stunning 20th series returns, bringing glamour and show-stopping dancing back to Saturday nights on BBC One.

“And we’re extremely excited to be able to welcome an audience back to the studio for this year’s shows.”

Tess Daly and Claudia Winkleman will return to hosting duties this year while judges Motsi Mabuse, Shirley Ballas, Anton du Beke, and Craig Revel Horwood will also return.